eSafety: YouTube safety mode

Follow THIS LINK to learn how to set Parental Controls for YouTube on mobile devices

Safety Mode is a setting which helps to filter out potentially inappropriate content that you may not want your children to stumble across while using YouTube. To turn Safety Mode on, scroll to the bottom of any YouTube page and click the drop-down menu in the 'Safety' section. Select the On option to enable this feature:

 

Please note : Enabling Safety Mode on YouTube will also enable Google SafeSearch, which is a similar filter for Google Search.

 

How to lock Safety Mode :

If you want Safety Mode to stay enabled on YouTube every time you visit the site, you must lock Safety Mode:

  1. Sign in to your YouTube account.

  2. Scroll to the bottom of any YouTube page and click the drop-down menu in the "Safety" section.

  3. You will now have an additional option to lock this browser into Safety Mode.

While it's not 100% accurate, YouTube uses age-restrictions, and other signals to identify and filter out inappropriate content.

Safety Mode is enabled on a browser level, so you must enable it for each browser you use on your computer. If your browser supports multiple profiles you must enable it for each profile.

Once enabled, Safety Mode will remain on regardless of whether you are logged in or not, or if another person is logged into a different YouTube account.

If you remain logged in to the YouTube account which locked Safety Mode other users of the computer will be able to adjust this setting. To ensure that this lock is not tampered with, you will have to log out of the account that enabled Safety Mode.

Please note that YouTube Safety Mode and Google SafeSearch are linked. Turning on Safety Mode will enable Google SafeSearch. The reverse is also true, so please be aware that disabling Safety Mode will disable SafeSearch.

Safety Mode is available on mobile and the YouTube app through the use of the SafeSearch functionality.